6300 S. East Ave.

Hodgkins, Illinois


…operated by the Mance Brothers—Bill, Art, Hal and Tom

…Harold W. Mance, 72, passed away on 9/10/89

…Charlie Soulee – track photographer




1960                        Bryant Tucker    

1959                        Bud Koehler

1958                        Arnie Gardner

1957                        Bill Van Allen

1956                        Bill Van Allen

1955                        Arnie Gardner

1954                        Ed Slamp

1953                        Art Fehrman





Bryant Tucker – Track Champion

…final program held on 9/1/60—Bryant Tucker – feature winner, Bud Koehler – second, Gene Marmor – third.

1960 Feature Winners

Bryant Tucker              5

Arnie Gardner              2

Harry Simonsen            2

Don Oldenberg 2

Chuck Eberhardt          2

Bud Koehler                 1  (50 lapper)

Bill Lutz                        1

Gene Marmor               1



Bud Koehler (’59 Studebaker Golden Hawk #77) – Track Champion

…Bob Pronger, driving a 1957 Ford, copped the annual Emma C. Mance Memorial 50 Lap Championship race.  It was reported that it was Pronger’s fourth feature win in a row.  Pronger defeated Bud Koehler, Harry Simonsen, Arnie Gardner and Legs Whitcomb.

…Bud Koehler wins 50-lap Spring Championship  5/31/59

…Don Oldenberg wins 30-lap late model feature  6/5/59

1.      Oldenberg, 2. Rich Clement, 3. Harry Simonsen

…Bud Koehler scores third win of the season  7/17/59, Arnie Gardner also has three wins

            1. Koehler, 2. Gardner, 3. Ray Young.  Dave Thompson – old model stock division winner


Arnie Gardner – Track Champion



Bill Van Allen – Track Champion



Bill Van Allen (V8-powered Braley Electric 1952 Nash Rambler) – Track Champion

…Final points:  1. Bill Van Allen, 2. Arnie Garnder, 3. Art Seckman

…Chuck Eberhardt of Plainfield wins Easter Sunday (4/8/56) season-opening 25 lap feature over Hank Chapman of Aurora and Johnny Kapovich.  Bill Van Allen dropped out of feature.



Arnie Gardner – Track Champion

…track paved for 1955 season (opened around 6/5/55)



Ed Slamp – Track Champion



Art Fehrman – Track Champion

…opened 5/3/53 (high-banked 1/5-mile dirt (clay) oval

How to get there:  Mance Park Speedway is located Ľ-mile south of Route 66 on East Ave., 3 miles south of LaGrange, the first crossroad east of U.S. 45.  Follow the Arrows!

…called “Chicagoland’s fastest and highest banked track” in 1953